Honda Cars India Ltd (HCIL) recently awarded scholarships worth $3,000 each to 14 aspiring engineers and scientists. The 13th edition of the Young Engineer and Scientist’s (Y-E-S) Award for 2019–20 was awarded to 14 students from IITs. With the latest edition of the Y-E-S programme, the company has recognised and rewarded over 168 students in 13 years. 

The Y-E-S Award is given to students from IITs after an evaluation by a jury of senior Honda executives and Indian scientists. This year, the awards received over 495 entries from the top 6 IITs. The chief guest was His Excellency Satoshi Suzuki, Ambassador of Japan to India, who presented the award to the students in recognition of their all-round performance in academics. Also present on the occasion were Akira Kojima, director, Honda Foundation, and Shirish Garud, senior fellow, The Energy and Research Institute (TERI).

The Y-E-S Award was instituted by the Honda Foundation in India in 2007 and is facilitated by Honda Cars India to nurture young students who have excelled in science and technology and aspire towards higher academic achievement. With this programme, the Honda Foundation hopes to encourage and promote concepts of eco technology among the young generation, while also strengthening interaction and exchange between Japanese and Indian youth who are expected to lead science, technology and industry.

Each recipient can utilise the award solely for pursuing education/skill development. Additionally, every award recipient becomes eligible for Y-E-S Award Plus, an internship programme offered at a company or research institute in Japan for two and a half months (10 weeks); each intern receives USD 7,000 for the same.

The recipients of Y-E-S Award 2019–20 in India are:

Faraaz Mallick, IIT Kharagpur

Hemant Kumar Sharma, IIT Kharagpur

Shaurya Shrivastava, IIT Kharagpur

Srinivas Gopalan K, IIT Madras

Lakshmi Amrutha Seethepalli, IIT Madras

Ujjwal Baranwal, IIT Roorkee

Purvi Agarwal, IIT Roorkee

Sanjeevani Marcha, IIT Roorkee

Aman Saraf, IIT Kanpur

Suyash Singh, IIT Kanpur

Kumar Shivam, IIT Bombay

Uddhav Agarwal, IIT Bombay

Cherub Kapoor, IIT Bombay

Nishank Goyal, IIT Delhi

The company did not respond to CB’s questions on whether the award will be opened up to science and technology students from other institutes and details of the selection process.